Emergency Loans Available for Farmers After Summer Storms

posted Oct 5, 2016, 4:59 AM by Ryan Quinn
Eight northern Wisconsin counties have been designated agricultural disaster areas after July flooding that destroyed more than 30 percent of crops. 

The disaster designation covers the primary counties of Ashland, Bayfield, and Iron, as well as the five neighboring counties of Douglas, Price, Sawyer, Vilas, and Washburn. 

Severe storms and flooding on July 11 and 12, 2016 left many farm fields under water or with saturated soil. The result was destroyed crops or sharply reduced yields. 

The disaster designation may make farmers in these counties eligible for low-interest emergency loans for the next eight months, and any other assistance that may become available through federal action.

Farmers in these counties should contact their local FSA offices for further information.